2014 Stellar Awards nominees announced; Tribbett, Brown lead nominations

(Chicago, IL)  Stand-up comedians turned television hosts, The View’s Sherri Shepherd and syndicated radio personality Rickey Smiley (Dish Nation), will inject new energy as co-hosts of the 29th Annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards. The annual salute to gospel music, The Stellar Awards will be held at the Nashville Municipal Auditorium on Saturday, January 18, 2014.
The show will air on the UP television network live on January 18, and
in broadcast syndication on 150 stations in over 125 markets around the
country from January 18 through March 2, 2014. 


Here’s the complete list of this year’s nominees.  Tye Tribbett and Anthony Brown & group therAPy have eight nominations each.  Tamela Mann and Tasha Cobbs each have seven. 

In addition to recognizing the year’s most outstanding contributions in
gospel music, The Stellar Awards will also bestow special honors upon Bishop Hezekiah Walker, Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee and Pastor Maceo Woods. Vicki Winans will present the Lifetime Achievement award to Walker, highlighting his impressive career in gospel music; Kirk Franklin
will present the Most Notable Achievement Award to Congresswoman Lee,
recognizing the leadership role she played in Congress passing the bill
naming the month of September Gospel Music Heritage Month; and
Dr. Bobby Jones will present the Legends Award to Pastor Maceo Woods.