36th Annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards announces winners

Stellar Awards logo

Congratulations to the nominees and winners of the 36th Annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards. The gospel awards show, with this year’s hosts Jekalyn Carr and Tye Tribbett, was taped live on July 10, 2021, at the Schermerhorn Symphony Center in Nashville, TN, and aired Sunday, August 1, on BET.

Pastor Mike Jr. had a fantastic night with wins for Artist of the Year, Rap/Hip-Hop Gospel Album of the Year, and Urban/Inspirational Single or Performance of the Year. Other artists with multiple wins included Kierra Sheard (Song of the Year and Contemporary Album of the Year), Maverick City Music (New Artist of the Year and Album of the Year), Jonathan McReynolds (Male Vocalist of the Year, Contemporary Male Vocalist of the Year, and Producer of the Year along with Darryl Howell and Rogest Carstarphen, Jr.), and Tasha Cobbs Leonard (Albertina Walker Female Vocalist of the Year, Praise and Worship Album of the Year, and Contemporary Female Vocalist of the Year).

The Clark Sisters, Lady Tramaine Hawkins, and Pastor Shirley Caesar were among the evening’s honorees, receiving the James Cleveland Lifetime Achievement Award, the Aretha Franklin Icon Award, and the Ambassador Dr. Bobby Jones Legends Award, respectively.

You can view the complete list of winners and honorees at thestellarwards.com.