2023 DunAmis Gospel Awards: Complete Winners List

By Libra Boyd
Gospel Music Fever

The 10th celebration of the DunAmis Gospel Awards took place Saturday, November 11, 2023, amid the exuberant atmosphere of Cedar Grove Tabernacle of Praise in Greensboro, NC. The main show brought together a near-capacity congregation of gospel enthusiasts and luminaries for an unforgettable night in recognition of spiritual excellence. Billie M. Johnson and Yves T. McKenzie shared hosting duties, leading the audience through the program of praise, worship, and well-deserved accolades.

Mike Yelverton and the Disciples of Christ, The New JC Worshippers, and The Worship Collective of William McLaughlin, III, Jalessa Cade, Christian Anderson, and Kennethia Mason—who paid tribute in song to gospel music’s legendary Hawkins family—were among several of the evening’s performers who were also nominees. Special performances were rendered by the NC A&T Alumni Fellowship Gospel Choir, in salute to DunAmis honoree Ron Jones, and by the Bishop Rickey Hayes Mass Choir (Western NC Chapter of the GMWA), recipients of the Bishop John H. Heath Music of Excellence Award.

The DunAmis Gospel Awards is one of the fastest-growing awards shows in the Southeast, with a vision rooted in the desire to honor, recognize, and uplift area churches, pastors, artists, and other ministries that form the heartbeat of gospel expression. This year’s event celebrated finalists in nineteen categories along with seven honorees.

The complete list of DunAmis Gospel Awards recipients is below. Congratulations to all!

Female Pastor of the Year
Pastor Latoya Brewington
Rhema Word Christian Center

Male Pastor of the Year
Bishop Kevin Womack
St. Paul Apostle Church of Jesus Christ

First Lady of the Year
Pastor Leila Womack
St. Paul Apostle Church of Jesus Christ

Praise & Worship Team of the Year
New Jerusalem Cathedral Worshippers

Worship Leader of the Year
Christina Gaylor – Abundant Life Church International

Choir Director of the Year
Jerry Sadler

Church of the Year
Greater Praise Deliverance Church

Holy Hip Hop Artist/Group of the Year
Effram “Class” Winstead

Quartet of the Year
The Torain Family

Media Publication of the Year
Elite Business Women Magazine

Dance Ministry of the Year
Mikeal Barnes, II – Unspoken Triumph

Community Choir of the Year
Mitchell Johnson and Rehoboth Fellowship Chorale

Producer of the Year
E.J. Stewart

Female Musician of the Year
Pastor JaShawna Bellamy

Male Musician of the Year
Matthew Goldston

Songwriter of the Year
Prophetess Brandi Rojas

Female Vocalist of the Year
Elder Shamelah Luster

Male Vocalist of the Year
Johnathan Hodges

DunAmis Artist of the Year
Shanice Powell

Bishop Jerome O. Dawson Lifetime Achievement Award
Rev. Dr. James A. Webster (awarded posthumously)
Former Pastor of Oak Ridge Baptist Church

Living Legend Award
Apostle Alice J. Totten
Presiding Prelate, Solid Rock Ark of Safety True Holiness Churches of the Apostolic Faith

Doris C. Harbor Pioneer Award
Elder Cynthia Duncan-Nash
Preacher, Singer, and Founding Member of Sister Circle International

Trailblazer Award
Chief Apostle Timothy Warren
Founder and Visionary of The Victory Center and the Global Covenant Consortium

Humanitarian Award
Pastor Q. Anthony Knotts
Visionary, Founder, and Senior Pastor of M.O.R.E. Church

Bishop John H. Heath Music of Excellence Award
Bishop Rickey Hayes Mass Choir – Western NC Chapter of GMWA

DunAmis Special Tribute
Ron Jones
Musician, Songwriter, and Former Director of the NC A&T Fellowship Gospel Choir

One Reply to “2023 DunAmis Gospel Awards: Complete Winners List”

Comments are closed.